Rock And Roll Hall Fame 2013 Inductees

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has officially announced next year’s 2013 inductees which are Rush, Public Enemy, Heart, Randy Newman, Donna Summer and Albert King. Summer, who passed away this May, and King, who died in 1992, will earn the honor. Lou Adler and Quincy Jones will both receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award for non-performers. “It’s a terrific honor and we’ll show up smiling,” Rush’s singer and bassist, Geddy Lee, tells Rolling Stone. “It made my mom happy, so that’s worth it.”  Public Enemy are only the fourth hip-hop act to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five were inducted in 2007, Run-D.M.C. made it in in 2009 and the Beastie Boys received last year’s honor.  The public was allowed to vote for the first time in the history of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year as votes were taken online and the result was a “fan’s ballot” that was counted along with roughly 600 other ballots. The induction ceremony for The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will be held on April 18th, 2013 at the Nokia Theater in LA. It will also broadcast on HBO May 18th and tickets go on sale to the public on January 25th.

Complete List Of The 2013 Inductees

Donna Summer
Randy Newman
Albert King
Public Enemy
Quincy Jones
Lou Alder

More from Jen And Tim Show | Mornings 5:30 AM - 10:00 AM

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From Cleveland's Star 102

Kringle's Inventionasium Experience: November 18-December 24
Holiday HQ
Get The New Radio.Com App!

Listen Live